Youngstown OVI Attorneys
Defense for Drunk Driving Charges in Youngstown, OH
Ohio has some of the toughest drunk driving penalties in the nation. The moment you are under arrest, it is important that you contact an attorney for help.
At Hartwig Law LLC, we offer hard-hitting, thorough defense against all types of OVI charges. We know what is at stake and how to protect you from the maximum penalties. Turn to our experienced and dedicated team today for help.
Ohio OVI Laws & Penalties
In Ohio, a driver who is at least 21 years old can be arrested for “operating a vehicle under the influence” (OVI) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher or while impaired by a controlled substance (e.g., cannabis, cocaine, LSD, etc.). A commercial driver’s license (CDL) holder can be charged with an OVI with a BAC of at least .04 percent, while drivers under 21 years of age can face charges with a BAC of at least .02 percent.
The following are the OVI penalties in Ohio:
First OVI - A jail sentence between 3 days and 6 months, a fine ranging from $375 to $1,075, and driver’s license suspension between 1 and 3 years.
Second OVI in 10 years - A jail term between 10 days and 6 months, a fine ranging from $525 to $1,625, and license suspension between 1 and 7 years.
Third OVI in 10 years - A jail sentence between 30 days and 1 year, a fine ranging from $850 to $2,750, and license suspension between 2 to 12 years.
If a driver’s BAC is at lest .17 percent, they may be charged with “aggravated” or “super” OVI. Such charges result in harsher penalties.
Aggravated OVI penalties in Ohio include:
First Aggravated OVI - If convicted, a driver must serve a jail sentence of 3 days and complete 3 days of a driver’s intervention program.
Second Aggravated OVI - If convicted, a driver must serve a jail term of at least 20 days or 10 days in jail and 36 days on house arrest with alcohol monitoring.
Third Aggravated OVI - If convicted, a drvier must serve a jail sentence of at least 60 days or 30 days in jail and 110 days on house arrest with alcohol monitoring.
Remember, under Ohio’s implied consent law, all drivers who are lawfully arrested for OVI are deemed to have consented to a chemical test (e.g., breath test, blood test, etc.) to determine the presence of drugs or alcohol. If you refuse to take a post-arrest chemical test, your license will be suspended for one year.
Working Hard to Defend You
At Hartwig Law LLC, our Youngstown OVI defense lawyers have an in-depth understanding of Ohio’s drunk driving laws and ways to defend your charges. They thoroughly research every detail of your charges, from the stop to the arrest and the results of your chemical/sobriety tests.
Known for their creative defenses and cutting-edge approach to challenging the prosecutor’s case, our attorneys have secured many successful OVI case results during their careers. Each case is prepared as if it will go to trial so you know we are always ready to fight for you inside and outside of court.
Discuss Your Charges in a Free Consult: (330) 899-4446
All clients at our firm have the full weight of our skilled legal team behind them. Our attorneys and staff personally handle each case, attend hearings with you, and answer your calls. You can be confident that your case is in the hands of trusted and seasoned legal professionals.
Charge Dismissed Rape
Case Dismissed Firearms
Prevented Charges being filed Rape
Charges Reduced Kidnapping/Theft
Not Guilty by Jury Verdict Assault